Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Should I/ Shouldn't I?
UK Bike Forum > General > Bike Chat
StevePJ
Well my bike sold on Ebay. Haven't had any contact from the seller who registered about 20 mins before the end of my auction. Sent semi-threatening (I would find them and sue em etc etc) email earlier today and here is the reply:

From: "Nelson Jenny" <jennynelson05@hotmail.com> Add to Address Book
To: stevepjuk@yahoo.co.uk
Subject: Suzuki SV650s. 2002 model.
Date: Fri, 01 Oct 2004 17:42:41 +0000


Hello,

Nice doing business with you on Ebay. I really hope it is in a good
condition because that's the most important thing to me now. I will
take it
for the £3,000.00. I have a reliable and trusted shipping company to do
the
pickup for me.

The check will be sent to you by my client who lives in the UK and he
is
owing me £6,800 so I decided to use the money to buy the said item from
you,
as the cheque is cleared you will deduct your £3,000.00 and another £50
for
any expenses you might incure in cashing the cheque and do me a favour
by
sending the remaining balance of the fund to my shipping agent for the
shipment via western union money transfer. They have other goods they
are
bringing in for me.
Hope I can entrust the cheque in your hands. Please send me the
following
information so that the cheque can get to you asap.

YOUR FULL NAME THAT WILL APPEAR ON THE CHEQUE.
CONTACT ADDRESS WHERE THE CHECK WILL BE SENT TO.
CELL PHONE NUMBER FOR EASY COMMUNICATION.
ZIP CODE.....

Thanks.

Jenny.




Well as i value all your opinions...

Should i????????????










































Yeah right.
Her details on Ebay are: false address (doesn't exsist), false phone number, non-checked email address and no feedback

Up yours Jenny NELSON swivel.gif
snapdragon
No,

will you need to let eBay know that it was a money laundering scam mad.gif that won the auction so it won't go against you as an ebay seller?
StevePJ
Already done. At least that way i can get my fee's back.
Anyone wanna buy a bike. Chqs not accepted though

wwww.gif
Wilf
I had a similar e mail yesterday from someone who saw my ad in the Adtrader.
Mr Peterson Mathew wanted my bike shipped to Egypt, I think not!
BikerGran
I had the same thing when I advertised my bike on the internet. As far as we, the potential victims are concerned, it's worse than money laundering - after you send them the money, you bank will come back at you and tell you the cheque was a rubber one!
bikerdave
QUOTE(Wilf @ Oct 1 2004, 07:58 PM)
I had a similar e mail yesterday from someone who saw my ad in the Adtrader.
Mr Peterson Mathew wanted my bike shipped to Egypt, I think not!

Surely it was from Mustapha Bike... lbhh.gif
Vinny
Absolutely not!!

I bought a Bandit 1200 yesterday, and the bloke had 2 offers of this type.

Its a known money laundering scam apparently, and under no circumstances should you take anyone up on such an offer......

Anyway, having just bought a bike again, Im new to the boards.

Hello!!

hello.gif
BikerGran
Hi Vinny, welcome!
Ex
No PJ and welcome Vinny. beer.gif
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.