Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Got this reply to an add for the BMW
UK Bike Forum > General > Bike Chat
Ace
Home > Ad-Mart UK Classifieds > Vehicles

View Personal Inbox Message
You received the following message from jannet in response to your ad or

message:
Name: jannet
Subject: BMW K100 streetfighter project (unfinished)
Date: 01/20/2004

Message: Dear Seller, I 'm interested in purchasing your advertised bike and i will like to know the price if is okay by me. if I can pay with a cheque drawn in an United Kingdom Bank. If this is okay with you do get back to me immediately for me to arrange the payment. Concerning the shippment, my shipper will come and pick it up from your location as soon as we seal this transaction. Do get back to me immediately with your Full Name, Contact Address and Phone Number for me to instruct my client to make the payment ASAP. Hope to hear from you soon. Best regards jannet,

What d'ya recon, straight up or hoax.
devilpaint
bit strange they didnt leave a contact no innit?
i'd be making damm sure the cheque clears b4 the "shipper" comes to "ship" it!
snapdragon
Hoax / thievers sad1.gif


it just don't look right no.gif
Ace
There was an email button at the bottom of the page.

Think i'll be giving this one a miss, i have been offered a Gixer 750, and i have two other blokes asking questions, one from Bath, that you blandy?. All since Sunday when i did the free classifieds rounds with the add. buttrock.gif
Ace
I cant belive this, i just got another....


From : <nelson_phillip@mail.com>
Sent : 20 January 2004 19:50:00
To : skintbiker@hotmail.com
Subject : Reply To Your Ad at the Bikersweb Classifieds

| | | Junk E-Mail | Inbox


Hello,
My name is phillip,I'm a reputable business man here in West Africa.I'm really
interested in your ad Bike for Sale so much which is £650,and My method of
payment is certified cashier cheque that is drawn on a United Kingdom Bank,and
or at a near by cashing store around you.
I'll be looking forward to giving me your last price,so as to transact business
with a trustworthy person,and i hope you are the type of a loyal person.I'll
like to know if you do shipping to the republic of Africa,and if you can't i'll
handle it by contacting my
shipping agent for the shippment arrangement.if this is okay by you ,
i will do like you to get back to me with your full name ,contact address and
your phone number so that i can proceed with the payment.
You can send me pics if really available,
I'm waiting for your mail today.
Thanks,
phillip......
Likingitspicy
Wilf may be able to tell you more I am sure, as he wrote, and I quote "received a warning that there is a problem with South African and middle eastern buyers e mailing enquiries about your bike and trying to trick you into shipping it to them and paying with dodgy cheques".

HTH
Ace
I have also posted this on the bikers web forum, thought as it came from a reply to my add on thier classifieds others should be warned.
ZOMB!E
If its got feathers and it quacks its probably a duck.

Not really relevant i spose but if youre asking then you already know the answer1 Tell them to f**k off!
Fazerstun
are you sure they aren't from the same person? Just I noticed that they both mis-spelt shipment the same way............. just call me Miss Marple hehe eyebrow.gif
ZOMB!E
They're mass email attack sh!te form piss poor african fraudsters. they cant even be arrisd to find some penniless british tourist to word their emails for them - google translator does a better job!

As if someone would want the hastle of shipping a 650 quid beemer to africa ( no offence ace) its more internet toss.
Fazerstun
I used google translator once, I can now say "Ich haben eine frosche in meine gummisteifel" surprised the hell out of our german office to learn that I had a frog in my wellington boot! lbhh.gif
BlandWit
QUOTE
one from Bath, that you blandy?.


WTF would I want with a BMW? wwww.gif

I haven't grown into the Bandit yet blush21.gif

It all seems a little dodgy to me to be honest... an old adage for ya... if it seems too good to be true...





























Then Tony Blair's speaking to you swivel.gif
Ace
this is a real hot cookie on the bikersweb forum, looks like this is a wide spread problem.

Might be an idea to pin a warning on our for sale section to future advertisers, wot d'ya BD?

i got this link in a reply to my posting on thier forum.

http://www.met.police.uk/fraudalert/
BikerGran
Ravin, I got the same message as your first one in reply to my ad for the GT - exact same wording but different name.

Working on the duck theory, I just deleted it!

Oo1.gif
Ace
QUOTE(zombie @ Jan 20 2004, 10:33 PM)
As if someone would want the hastle of shipping a 650 quid beemer to africa ( no offence ace) its more internet toss.

So whats wrong with my beemer then Zomie.... its worth £650 of any ones dosh..... laughcont.gif laughcont.gif

I'll even do a recipt on headed paper.

Flogget Anrun
quality vehicles (once)
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2012 Invision Power Services, Inc.